RSS

1940-50’S ST. PETERSBURG & TAMPA BAY FLORIDA BROCHURES & EPHEMERA… on ebay

13 May

 florida-vacation-pamplet-collectionI periodically search eBay, and Google for “Pinellas” and “Tampa Bay Excursions,” and sometimes “Bee Line Ferry”.  On this occasion, I entered “Tampa Bay Excursions” and found 3 items, two of which were advertising matchbooks for the Miss Pinellas.  I’m not sure where the extra scrolling came from, but maybe it was a derivative of my initial search words.  I came to this item (see Florida vacation pamphlet collection photo) for sale.

I immediately recognized the “Moonlight Cruises” pamphlet that I had seen a copy of from a previous eBay sale probably a year or so ago.  I later noted that the seller said this pamphlet was in exceptional condition.  The cost of the collection, when I only want the one pamphlet, might be pushing the limit, but since this is a focal piece for her time as the Miss Pinellas, I think it is well worth it.  *But, any collector would probably say the same.

This is an excellent piece of paraphernalia regarding the “Miss Pinellas” operated by Capt. Winters under the business name of “Tampa Bay Excursions, Inc.”  Recall that when the Sunshine Skyway Bridge was completed in 1954, it put the “Bee Line Ferry” out of business and Capt. Joe Winters bought the ferry and started using her for fishing excursions, and moonlight dancing and parties.

NOTE:  I haven’t seen any newspaper photos (the originals that were used to make the newspaper images) recently, but a year or so ago, there were several that related to the Bee Line Ferry and Pinellas Ferry.

 
Comments Off on 1940-50’S ST. PETERSBURG & TAMPA BAY FLORIDA BROCHURES & EPHEMERA… on ebay

Posted by on May 13, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Comments are closed.

 
